Once every week while school is in session, EECS invites a distinguished researcher or practitioner in a computer science or electrical and computer engineering-related field to present their ideas and/or work. Talks are generally targeted to electrical engineering and computer science graduate students. This colloquium series is free and open to everyone.

Upcoming Colloquia

Energy Efficiency Across Programming Languages: How Do Energy, Time, and Memory Relate?

Monday, February 5, 2018 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm
LPSC 125

Speaker Information

Jácome Cunha
Assistant Professor
NOVA LINCS, Department of Computer Science
Faculty of Science and Technology
NOVA University of Lisbon

Abstract

In this talk we will present a study of the runtime, memory usage and energy consumption of twenty seven well-known software languages. We monitor the performance of such languages using ten different programming problems, expressed in each of the languages. Our results show interesting  findings, such as, slower/faster languages consuming less/more energy, and how memory usage influences energy consumption. We show how to use our results to provide software engineers support to decide which language to use when energy effciency is a concern.

Past Colloquia

Zachary Tatlock
Friday, February 15, 2013 - 10:00am to 11:10am
Eric Walkingshaw
Thursday, February 14, 2013 - 8:30am to 9:40am
Ravi Chugh
Wednesday, February 13, 2013 - 10:00am to 11:10am
Barrie Gilbert
Monday, February 11, 2013 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm
Mike Rosulek
Friday, February 8, 2013 - 10:00am to 11:10am
Selcuk Uluagac
Wednesday, February 6, 2013 - 10:00am to 11:10am
Bill Smart
Monday, January 28, 2013 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm
Cindy Grimm
Monday, January 14, 2013 - 4:00pm
Eduardo Cotilla-Sanchez
Monday, January 7, 2013 - 4:00pm to 4:50pm

Pages