National Academy of Engineering

Gabor Temes (2015)


Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)

Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)

American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

National Academy of Inventors (NAI)

American Vacuum Society (AVS)

NSF Presidential Young Investigator/CAREER Awards

National/International & External Awards

  • David Allstot: IEEE Circuits and Systems Society John Choma Education Award (2018)
  • Mike Bailey: ACM SIGGRAPH Outstanding Service Award (2015)
  • Bella Bose: Southern Methodist University Computer Science and Engineering 40th Anniversary Award for Academic Accomplishment (2008)
  • Ted Brekken: IEEE Power & Energy Society Outstanding Young Engineer Award (2011)
  • Margaret Burnett: Computing Research Association Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award (2017); ACM CHI Academy (2016); NCWIT Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award (2015); IBM International Faculty Award (2007 & 2008)
  • Paul Cull: Life Membership, Association for Computing Machinery (2013); 50 Year Award, Mathematical Association of America (2013); E. R. Caianiello Award for Biocybernetics, European Mtg on Cybernetics & Systems Research (2004 & 2010); Forty Year Award, Mathematical Association of America (2003)
  • Tom Dietterich: AMiner Most Influential Scholar Award (2016); Distinguished Educator Award, Department of Computer Science, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign (2016)
  • Danny Dig: Google Faculty Research Award (2015 & 2016)
  • Martin Erwig: American Book Fest Best Book Award for Education/Academic Category (2017); Association of American Publishers PROSE Award Honorable Mention for Computer and Information Sciences
  • Bechir Hamdaoui: IEEE Communications Society Distinguished Lecturer (2015-2017)
  • Liang Huang: Yahoo Faculty Research and Engagement Program Award (2015); Google Faulty Research Award (2010 & 2013)
  • Yeongjin Jang: Winner of DEF CON 26 CTF (2018) and DEF CON 23 CTF (2015)
  • Carlos Jensen: Red Hat open source champion (2017)
  • V John Mathews: IEEE Signal Processing Society Meritorious Service Award (2014); Distinguished Alumni Award from the National Institute of Technology, Tiruchirappalli, India (2008-09)
  • Cherri Pancake: ACM President (2018-2020); Woman of Achievement, Oregon Commission for Women (2006); HPCwire’s “People to Watch” list (2005); founder of Parallel Tools Consortium (1993), High Performance Debugging Forum (1996), Network for Earthquake Engineering & Simulation Consortium (2001), ACM Special Interest Group on High Performance Computing (2011)
  • Gabor Temes: National Academy of Engineering (2015); Semiconductor Industry Association (SIA) University Researcher Award(2017); IEEE CAS Mac Van Valkenburg Award (2009); IEEE Gustav Robert Kirchhoff Award (2006); IEEE Third Millennium Medal (2000); IEEE CAS Education Award; IEEE CAS Golden Jubilee Medal (1999); IEEE Graduate Teaching Award (1998); IEEE Centennial Medal (1994); IEEE CAS Society Technical Achievement Award (1989); IEEE I&M Society Andrew Chi Prize (1985); IEEE CAS Distinguished Lecturer (1991-1992, 2001-2002); Darlington Award of IEEE CAS Society (1969, 1981); honorary doctorate, Technical Univ of Budapest
  • John Wager: National Academy of Inventors fellow (2016); Society for Information Display (SID) Special Recognition Award “for his pioneering contributions to the development of oxide TFTs” (2012)
  • Andreas Weisshaar: NSF Program Director (2008-2011)
  • Tom Weller: IEEE MTT Society Outstanding Young Engineer Award (2005); IBM Faculty Partnership Award (2000, 2001); IEEE MTT Society Microwave Prize (1996)

University Awards

Best Paper Awards